Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 13th, 2009

It’s the start of a new school year, and Megan is consumed with worry: will the super cute and obviously perfect Josh ever ask her to the Homecoming dance? Will she and her best friend Jess make it on to the pom squad? Will Monica stop being so mean? When will the undead stop showing up on her doorstep?

Wait, what?! The undead???

In addition to being a typical high school sophomore, Megan is also a Settler; Settlers use their powers to send undead–what the uninitiated would call zombies–back to their graves. And unfortunately for Megan, it looks like someone in Carol is using black magic to raise a host of evil undead. Can Megan save herself from being eaten alive, and, more importantly, still make it to Homecoming?

This was a fun, fluffy read, which I enjoyed immensely. I was a little surprised that it took Megan so long to figure out who was raising all of the evil undead, and I occasionally thought she sounded older than her not-quite sixteen years, but these are minor quibbles with an otherwise successful book. The story was original, the characters were believable, and I look forward to the next book in the series, Undead Much. Fans of Buffy Summers and Mia Thermopolis should be sure to check this one out.

Stacey Jay’s website and blog.

Source: review copy from publisher

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: